What are the eligibility criteria for Judicial Services Examination?

The judicial services examinations in India are conducted at two levels. To sit for and qualify for these examinations, specific eligibility criteria are to be looked upon. Here are the major differences between the two examinations :


Lower level Judicial Exam

Higher level Judicial Exam

Educational Qualification

•   LLB Degree is a must.

•   Enrolled as an Advocate under Advocates Act 1961.

•   LLB Degree is a must.

•   Enrolled as an Advocate under Advocates Act 1961.

Experience Requirement

•   No Additional Experience Required.

•   Even Final Year Candidates can attempt this exam.

•   Seven years of litigating practice is a must. This duration could vary state to state.


Indian Citizenship is a must.

Indian Citizenship is a must.


Posted as Member of sub-ordinate judiciary.

Posted as ADJ ( additional district judge )


Promotions are time based.

Benefit – Accelerated Promotions.

Secured Employment

Early in life

Late in life

Judiciary is a great career option if:

  • You have an inclination towards Public Service.
  • You intend to contribute directly to a fair, just system and the greater good of society. 
  • You want to stay in an intellectually stimulating profession, simultaneously being in touch with the laws.
  • You want to remain in a profession that is dignified and commands the respect of people.

Myth: Focus on syllabus and pattern of a Single State 

Reality: Multiple State attempts (if language permits ) increase the practical possibility of success within a year.

Dependence of securing a rank must not rely on a single day. Failure of delivering on one day for any reason costs a whole year in a single state attempt. Also, Law remains consistent throughout the country. Only pattern and syllabus must be kept in mind.

Subscribe For Regular Updates